Suicide Squad Won an Oscar? BEFORE ANY MARVEL CINEMATIC UNIVERSE FILM EVER?

Hey everyone, Jack Drees here! Thought I was done talking about the Academy Awards? You thought wrong! There’s another thing I want to bring up, and that is “Suicide Squad’s” win. “Suicide Squad” is probably one of the most controversial movies of the past year. After many folks happened to be disappointed with “Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice,” it didn’t stop their excitement for “Suicide Squad,” which was supposed to come out in summer 2016. Then the movie came out, the opinions were across the board for this film. A lot of comic book nerds really hated it, critics trashed it (according to Rotten Tomatoes), then there’s that group of people who happened to really like it (also according to Rotten Tomatoes). When I first saw the film, I liked it, in my review, I gave it a 7/10. However, when watching the film on Blu-Ray, I felt like I was watching a selection of cool segments, but mostly uninspired s*it. So yeah, the score is now a bit lower than how it was after my first watch. Would I watch it again in the future? Quite possibly, but probably only for certain parts. I feel like I’m jumping on a bandwagon for saying this, but the fact that this very film is now an Oscar winner, is just hilarious.

mv5bmjaxotuzmtg1nf5bml5banbnxkftztgwnjqxnza0ote-_v1_sy1000_cr0011111000_al_

This film won in the category of “Best Makeup and Hairstyling.” I’ll be honest, out of all the Oscars this film could possibly win, this would have been one of the most believable ones. In fact, compared to its competitors, I’m totally fine with this film winning, I have not seen “A Man Called Ove,” but after a brief look at some images from the film, I can’t say I’m thrilled with it. I saw its other competitor, “Star Trek: Beyond,” and as far as eligibility for this category goes, I’d say this movie is a reasonable nomination. One character really stood out to me, Jaylah played by Sofia Boutella to be specific. However, “Suicide Squad” was the film I actually felt was the most deserving of the three films. I was amazed with what they have done with a few characters. These characters include Harley Quinn, The Joker, and Enchantress. Everything looked glossy and colorful when it came to The Joker and Harley Quinn and Enchantress certainly looked intimidating. Even if I didn’t care much for a certain characters, I was able to admire how they looked.

Also, let me just remind you. As if calling “Suicide Squad” an Oscar winner isn’t weird enough, get a load of this. There isn’t a single Marvel Cinematic Universe movie that has won an Oscar. There have been multiple comic book based films that won Oscars in the past, including ones from Marvel like “Spider-Man 2” and “Men in Black.” Although, not one modern day Marvel Cinematic Universe film such as “Iron Man,” “The Avengers,” or “Guardians of the Galaxy” won an Oscar, EVER. They have been nominated, but not a single one was a winner. However, a modern day DC Comics film, one that was disliked by so many people, actually happened to win an Oscar. It’s just astounding to me.

All of this does raise a few questions. The first question being, is this a sure sign that DC actually has a chance of making great movies in the future? Well, nothing’s absolutely certain when it comes to that matter, and I’m ABSOLUTELY EXCITED for “Wonder Woman” coming out in June, and I also have faith in “Justice League” coming out in November, so we’ll see what happens with those films along with other DC films. Also, will Marvel Studios ever win an Academy Award? From research, most of the MCU films are nominated for best visual effects. Although its chances of winning, personally, probably aren’t gonna be the best. And I say that because a good portion of the MCU films look very similar in terms of visuals. Just watch a few Marvel Studios films and you’ll see what I mean. Last question I have in mind, is this. Will DC ever surpass Marvel in terms of quality? I honestly doubt that. Marvel has a formula with their films, and in some ways, this is completely unofficial, because in my view, this only applies to one DC film, but it almost seems as if DC is trying to borrow a lot of what Marvel has and put it into their films. This is evident when it comes to “Suicide Squad.” When you take the soundtrack, some of the visuals, and the whole team formation jazz, in some ways, it almost feels like at times that I’m watching a carbon copy of “Guardians of the Galaxy.” With films like “Man of Steel” and “Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice,” I felt like I was watching something new. I really enjoyed my experience of watching “Man of Steel,” and while I wouldn’t consider “Batman v Superman” a great movie, I can’t say it’s a horrible movie either.

mv5bmjm1otmxnzuym15bml5banbnxkftztgwnjyzmtizote-_v1_sy1000_cr006741000_al_

I can’t say I’m entirely disappointed with this film winning the award it won, because out of all the choices, it looked like “Suicide Squad” put in the most effort when it came into this category and it definitely paid off. What are your thoughts on “Suicide Squad” getting an Oscar? Is this category appropriate for the film? Or I want to know this, what did you think of “Suicide Squad,” yeah, I’m actually somewhat curious, so leave a comment if interested! Be sure to stay tuned for more of my epic posts and reviews coming soon! Scene Before is your click to the flicks!

Leave a comment